Random musing…

6 Sep

This morning was rough. Not for Henry, who was wonderful as usual, but for his poor, tired mama. Upon waking, I couldn’t move. I couldn’t think straight. And, apparently, I couldn’t open my eyes since I ran into the door on the way to the bathroom. When did vacation become SO exhausting?

Perhaps my brain was addled with fatigue but I couldn’t help but focus on our missed opportunity for relaxation. Labor Day weekend isn’t supposed to be tiring. It’s supposed to be about doing nothing. A last chance to revel in the easy ways of summer. This thought pattern is quite dangerous and, of course, prompted a rapid spiral downward. How I can keep going in this condition? Does it ever slow down? Do we ever get a chance to rest? (Ah, nothing like a morning mommy meltdown.)

Fortunately, these two posts landed in my mailbox this morning:

The Beauty of Living…Slowly

 

Slow Down: Taking the Time to Make Some Time

After reading these, I realized that life won’t slow down on its own and, as we accelerate into fall, it’s probably only going to get worse. So, I best be watchin’ out for myself. With this new perspective, I whipped open my calendar and scheduled a pajama weekend. I just want to spend two days at home, in my jammies, not doing anything particularly productive. Just taking that first step made me feel better. It helped me relax.

One Response to “Random musing…”

  1. Joan Bleakly September 7, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    My…what GOOD advice! Few awards are given for being the busiest person on earth….but little kids love it when Mom and Dad make time to just “enjoy the day” with them. That’s the reward!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

