Where did the time go?

25 Aug

Times has a way of sneaking up on you. It’s already the end of August and summer is almost over. It’s practically time for pumpkin carving, changes in the leaves, and for sweaters. Where did the time go?

Watching Henry,  I am amazed that our little guy is no longer a wrinkly newborn but is an active eight month old baby, who’s exploring and interacting with the world. He stretches for his favorite toys and inches his way closer to learning to crawl. He babbles to himself about picture and story books. He LOVES people and makes friends everywhere he goes. Geez, look at how big he is:

But as Henry has grown, I’ve seen changes in myself too. Actually, now that I think about it, I’ve changed a lot and all for the best (in my opinion). Here’s what I’ve noticed:

1. I am much more open. As evidence, this blog. I NEVER would have done this a year ago. And look, I chat with other mommies at the grocery store. I joined parent meet-up groups. I’m part of a book club now. Bye-bye loner Becca.

2. I’m less prideful. In these last eight months, I’ve run into my own limitations hundreds of times. I’ve had to learn to accept that I’m not perfect. But, you know what, I’m doing my best and that is what counts. Perfection is overrated anyway.

3. I’m able to enjoy the small things more. Sure, we won’t be traveling to Asia, riding our bikes 100 miles in a day, or pursuing some grand adventure anytime soon but I’m okay with that. My new favorite thing to do is play kissy monster with Henry. I’m all about appreciating what I’ve got.

4. I spend more time smiling. Henry smiles when I walk in the door. He smiles at his daddy. He smiles when he sees the cats. He smiles all the time and he has me smiling more too. It’s contagious and I love it.

Becoming a parent has, so far, been a whirlwind of a challenge but, without a doubt, it is worth all the sacrifices and hard work. It is one of the best things I’ve ever done. I just hope that time doesn’t pass too fast.

2 Responses to “Where did the time go?”

  1. Amy Arnold August 25, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    This post makes me happy x 100!

  2. Sue Leadem August 25, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Awwwww……I think it makes ME happy x100 too!

Leave a Reply

