The bucket list…

30 Aug

I find myself in an interesting situation. You see, I might be going to Bolivia to help film a documentary. In October! It’s crazy! It’s risky! It’s totally unlike anything I’ve ever done before! It might actually happen (eep)!

Here are the details- in the dynamic world of science outreach, my boss became part of a film project to document a small Amazonian village as Western medicine has encroached upon their traditional way of life. So cool, right?!

After something just short of begging and a few weeks trying to prove my toughness, boss man is starting to relent. I might get to go on their next trip! How bad-ass would that be?! I’d get to see the Andes! I’d get to (get to?) drink chicha! I’d get to use my Spanish skills! Wait, I don’t have Spanish skills. But look, I’d get to cross a couple of things off of my bucket list:

Despite the overall amazing-ness of all this, things aren’t so easy anymore. I have a kid. I have a husband with a broken face. This trip would be a big deal. How would we even manage it?

SO, with all of the risks and all of the inconveniences inherent to this kind of trip, the big question becomes, do I do the responsible thing, the safe thing, the thing I am supposed to do YET again or do I take a leap and do that risky, amazing, challenging, but personally fulfilling thing? Is it worth it?


6 Responses to “The bucket list…”

  1. Joan Bleakly August 31, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    I read your bucket list….MY list has not been too different….some of your goals are different from some of mine…. but there are similarities. I have done quite a few of the same things you want to do and I know they will happen for you along the way. It wasn’t possible for me to indulge in all of my “wishes” when I was your age. I did not think I was “chickening out”…it was just that the “timing was wrong” for that moment. The opportunities were still there later….and taking advantage of them then, did not diminish the pleasure and the enjoyment. I keep adding to my list…..that’s why I have to live tob e at least 200!

  2. Amy Arnold August 31, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Be irresponsible! Do it! Except the chicha part. That is nasty.

  3. PEGGY LUND August 31, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    YOU GO FOR IT, GIRL!!!

    PEGGY

  4. Ben September 1, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    As the youngest and most irresponsible member of the family, I say DO IT!!!

    • Amy Arnold September 2, 2011 at 12:27 am #

      Youngest by 6 minutes…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Friday! « Kissy Monster - September 2, 2011

    […] get 25% off for life. If I was really reckless, I could cross something else off of my bucket list (read more). Ha!…just kidding […]

Leave a Reply

