Currently reading…

19 Sep

The Magicians by Lev Grossman. It’s basically Harry Potter mashed-up with The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. But it’s for adults and I don’t feel ashamed to read it because it’s for adults.

To be honest, I tried to read the Harry Potter series but couldn’t get into it. It felt too much like I was reading a book for kids. It felt too dumbed down, in my opinion. You’d think that I would love that series because I work with kids but it just didn’t jive. I do, however, enjoy the occasional fantasy book. Reading The Magicians is a great way to indulge in a world of fantasy without resorting to children’s literature.

The story is about a teenager named Quentin, who discovers that he has the ability to do magic and is recruited into a secret, elite school for magic students. The author does a good job of exploring Quentin’s thoughts and emotions throughout the schooling process. Since the main character is 17, he is a more complex than Harry Potter. He seems less naive. Overall, I have an easier time relating to him.

I’m only a third of the way through the story and the author is zooming through the schooling process. So, I have a feeling that something big is coming in the second half of the book but what?

 

Leave a Reply

