Daylight Saving Time…really?!

9 Nov

As an Arizona transplant, I never quite understood the purpose of daylight saving time. We always had the same amount of sunlight, so there really was no need to change the clocks.Upon moving to the Chicago area, I learned about the 7:30am sunrise and the 4:30pm sunset that comes with the end of daylight saving time in the fall. It’s not my favorite thing in the world but, you know, you deal.

But, oh, daylight saving time from the parent’s perspective…that’s a COMPLETELY different situation. It totally stinks! And, mind you, that is the totally censored, parent-, grandparent-friendly opinion.Why does it stink? Can you say 3:30am wake-up time? You work so hard to get a kid on a sleep schedule and then the government arbitrarily tells you to change the time on your clock. Curses!

It’s probably made worse by the fact that Henry is teething now and his sleep cycles have changed anyway. But his previously manageable 4:30 wake-up has become the ungodly 3:30 wake-up.  Technically, the difference between 4:30am on Saturday and 3:30am on Sunday is purely psychological but, geez, what a difference! The mind plays tricks on you at that time in the morning. The clock says 3:30 and it feels like 3:30.

So, anyhoo, I’ve been falling asleep on the couch at 7:30pm every night. And that, my friends, is why I haven’t posted much recently. I’m sorry for the lack of communication but I’m going to blame the Illinois state government for this one. Get rid of Daylight Saving Time! There, I said it.

2 Responses to “Daylight Saving Time…really?!”

  1. Joan Bleakly November 9, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    I have to agree….I think we went thru the same situation with your mom and her brother and sister. Parents just can’t win in a Daylight Saving Time issue. The day will come,tho when Henry is a teenager and he will sleep like a log…….while you are trying to get him up to go to school. Parents just muddle thru this until college rolls around….

  2. Ben November 15, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    Agreed! Of course I can’t speak to the parenting aspects, but I know I find it difficult to use “censored, parent, and grandparent” friendly language when talking about DST!

Leave a Reply

