TV and I are breaking up

22 Nov

Alright…I’ll say it… I’m giving up TV.

Okay, mostly giving up TV.

At some point in the last few weeks, it dawned on me that I watch a lot of TV. I mean A LOT of TV. Check out my About page, it’s about TV. And after doing a quick calculation in my head, I figured that our TV is on at least six hours a day. That’s a lot considering I’m only home (and awake) for eight hours max.

So, I’m giving it up.

To give you some context… to give you a sense for the enormity of this decision… I grew up in a household with five TVs. Five! That is one TV per person. And that’s not counting the TV that was in our van. There was a TV in almost every room of the house. And they were always on. I was entranced. For me, TV was more than a habit. It was a way of life. I’d come home from school, grab a snack, and sit down to watch the Rosie O’Donnell Show. TV was just part of my routine.

And over the years, that never changed. My choice in programming did but the TV was always my friend, my buddy. TV got me through the nights when Deron was gone at work. TV nurtured me while I cared for our newborn son. TV has always been there for me.

But lately…well…I find myself asking “Where is all my time going?” Why can’t I find time for my hobbies? Why can’t I find time to read? Why can’t I find time to take care of myself?

And then, boom!, I looked at my friend TV with new eyes. It was no longer my friend. The TV was now holding me back. I was losing my precious waking hours to TV nonsense. Did I really want to watch Dancing with the Stars more than I wanted to work on my blog or my craft project or take a relaxing bubble bath? No!

The TV is getting the ol’ heave ho. We’re going through a break up. We’re done.

My time is better spent talking to my husband. Playing with our son. Relaxing in a quiet moment. And now if I want to watch a high quality, well-regarded, personal favorite program, I will choose to watch it on Hulu. At my convenience. On my terms.

I’m taking ownership.

TV, you no longer have control over me. Your reign is done.

Boo-yah!

Day 10 done. 20 days to go.

4 Responses to “TV and I are breaking up”

  1. curlycarly127 November 22, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    I’ve always had the same type of relationship with TV. That is, until I started blogging a few months ago. I started choosing to boot up the computer after work rather than watching TV and soon, I’d given up several of my most-watched shows. It’s so freeing! Sitting in front of a computer probably isn’t much better, but at least I’m a little more engaged than I am when in front of the TV.

    • rleadem November 24, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      Agree, agree, agree. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Joan Bleakly November 22, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    My gosh! I was YOUR age before we ever owned a TV! It was a big boxy unit with a dinky screen….all in “living black and white”. We were living in Chicago at the time. BUT…programming was only on the air from 7 a.m. to midnight and that was that…There was one…maybe two channels. Shortly after that, we moved to Wis. where there was ONE channel….11 a.m.to 10 p.m. As a result, we didn’t watch much because there wasn’t much TO watch. Good luck with your change in viewing habits. Even with the “1 million” satellite channels available round the clock now….I find little on TV to hold my attention…EXCEPT for Dancing With the Stars. Reading is good, hobbies are good, bubble baths are good….now’s your chance!

    • blisstwelvephotography November 23, 2011 at 8:41 am #

      I have to admit, watching TV can be hard to give up, I actually only watch a few shows. (Mostly being singing or dancing shows considering I love music) Good luck! 🙂 Thanks so much for following us on our blog!
      BlissTwelvePhotography

Leave a Reply

