Happy Friday!

2 Dec

Happy Friday everyone! We made it through another week. Phew.

Our little clan will be decorating the apartment this weekend. Yay Christmas trees! Yay stockings! Yay tinsel and lights and snowflakes! We’re also going to celebrate with the family  tradition of “crappy frozen food” (as my brother calls it) and seasonal Christmas beer. I love traditions.

I’m also WAY behind for book club next week. We’re currently reading A Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst and it’s…tough.

Maybe tough isn’t the right word. It’s sleepy. It’s quiet. It’s unhurried. It’s about British aristocrats after World War I or, as our English book club leader said, “it’s about a bunch of poufs in the English countryside.” Which is true, it is kinda about gays in the English countryside. But it’s taken me two weeks to read 167 pages and I have 200 more to go by Monday. I don’t think that I’m going to make it (eep).

I also promise to put up our Christmas wish lists this weekend. I’m having a lot of fun putting everything together and the Simple Kids philosophy presents a nice challenge.

More later.

Day 20 complete…66% of the way towards completing my goal. 10 more days to go.

 

8 Responses to “Happy Friday!”

  1. Amy December 2, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Hey, we are doing crappy frozen food and christmas decorating tomorrow too! Our family traditions rule

  2. Ben December 3, 2011 at 5:48 am #

    Hey now, I love this tradition! Heather and I carry it on as well! Also, I didn’t call it “crappy frozen food”; this would mean the food is unenjoyable, and it most definitely is not! I called it “frozen crap”, there’s a HUGE difference!

    • Amy December 3, 2011 at 7:49 am #

      “Frozen crap” sounds a lot more disgusting. And probably not vegan.

      • rleadem December 3, 2011 at 11:57 am #

        Ha! You’re awesome!

  3. Sue Leadem December 3, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Guess the years of fooling you by calling it “fancy hors devours” night are over. But makes me happy knowing you’re all carrying on the tradition! Next goal: making you all get weepy over cheezy gifts with photos and glitter. Thinking it’s just a matter of time for Becca…..

    • rleadem December 3, 2011 at 11:58 am #

      True. It does not take much to make me weepy these days.

  4. Sue Leadem December 3, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    It’s the mom thing. No use in trying to fight it…..just embrace and enjoy it.

  5. Joan Bleakly December 3, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    The “weepy gene” has been in the Bleakly family for generations….It’s just THERE! I’m hanging ornaments on MY tree today that you guys made when you were pre-schoolers and I LOVE them…even the paper chains! No frozen food here,tho…just a genuine, handcrafted peanut butter sandwich to off set the BBQ chicken with chipolte sauce I had for lunch this noon!

Leave a Reply

