A new project (can I do it?)

4 Jan

I’m starting a new project, a fairly large, pretty substantial project.

I’m making a new quilt for our bed.

Cause I’m a crazy person.

I don’t know exactly why I’m doing this. Maybe I just wanted something pretty for our new apartment and our current quilt is looking ragged. It needs a rest. Or maybe it’s because I’m a project person and I can’t help myself. I feel compelled.

So, I’m taking on a crazy person project and I’m going to make a quilt in my spare time.

Ha!

I’m trying to be somewhat realistic with all this. Only 24 big rectangles sewn into three columns. Relatively easy compared to some quilts out there.

And I found such pretty fabrics from Amy Butler, Joel Dewberry, Sandi Henerson, and Terrie Mangat.

The theme seems to be navy blue, avocado green, turquoise, and purple with grey and coral accents. Now that I’m looking at it again, it is a slightly crazy color combination. Oh well. Maybe that can be the theme for the quilt…crazy.

So for right now, we wait for the fabrics to arrive.

I’ll keep you posted on the quilting progress.

4 Responses to “A new project (can I do it?)”

  1. Joan Bleakly January 4, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    Yeah! A new quilt is a great project! I know the quilt tops you made a few years ago were very very well done! I am PLEASED to know you are carrying on the craft! The color scheme is very current right now….good choice!

    • rleadem January 6, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

      I actually made a quilt/duvet cover last year for our Michigan house. This seems to happen anytime I want to redecorate the bedroom. I find quilts that I like but I just can’t afford my favorite commercially made quilts. So, I make them instead. It’s a substitution that will have to work.

  2. Sue Leadem January 6, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    Pretty, pretty, pretty! Love the colors!

  3. Joan Bleakly January 8, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    The prettiest quilts I have seen are those handcrafted at home….either from scraps or from specially chosen fabrics. You wouldn’t believe how many gorgeous quilts tops I have taken in from clients who wanted them finished off into handquilted quilts. A couple of the tops I did last year were stitched together nearly 100 years ago and FINALLY the owners decided to do something with them. I’ve enjoyed doing the completion work and you learn so much about the person who put the top together. It is very satisfying to add the batting, the backing and sit down to do the actual quilting. I never set deadlines on finishing quilts. You just start quilting in the middle and work your way to the outer edges…and one day…it’s DONE. Add the binding…and return it to it’s owner. Remind me to show pictures to you when you come again. Have fun doing yours!

Leave a Reply

