Just finished reading…

9 Jan

The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes.

Winner of the Man Booker Prize for literature and a lovely book. Written from the perspective of an older man as he reflects upon his past, the book is a contemplation of memory, time, and personal history. It sounds quite serious when I say it like that but it’s really a lovely, simple story. It almost reads like a diary, like the main character is telling a story to someone. Barnes has a wonderful way with language and his book is highly quotable. Here are some of my favorites:

” But time…how time first grounds us and then confounds us. We thought we were being mature when we were only being safe. We imagined we were being responsible but were only being cowardly. What we called realism turned out to be a way of avoiding rather than facing things.”

“It strikes me that this may be one of the differences between youth and age: when we are young, we invent different futures for ourselves; when we are old, we invent different pasts for others.”

And I read it on our new-ish Kindle. This was my first time using the Kindle and I gotta say…didn’t hate the Kindle. Didn’t love it either (why am I being advertised to on the Kindle?) but I’d use it again.

2 Responses to “Just finished reading…”

  1. Joan Bleakly January 9, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    Kindle can never replace an actual book. There is a “feel” to a book be it hardcover or paperback that is “right”. The font, the paper it’s printed on….the “fragrance” of a brand new book, the crisp untouched pages….. and also the well worn, much read old book….can not never be replaced by a “mechanical” book. My parents had a set of books I wish I had taken with me when I had the chance. They were the classic stories we all read in our youth…… bound in brown suede covers with gold leaf edges on each of the heavy paper pages. The book you just finished sounds good…I’ll have to look it up….but not on Kindle.

  2. Brad Geagley January 9, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Love Julian Barnes.

Leave a Reply

