I remember this feeling

9 Mar

I had forgotten what 2am felt like. Had forgotten the wrongness of that time of day. Had forgotten how it feels to look outside the window and see that everyone else is asleep. Had forgotten those times when you desperately want to go to sleep, your eyelids sag with fatigue but you’re not allowed to go to bed.

I remembered again last night.

I remembered as Henry screamed through the teething pain, as big tears dripped down his cheeks, and not even binky could help him. Only the kindly voice of Elmo could sooth him as his two front teeth emerged.

So Henry and I sat up.

We watched Sesame Street.

And together we endured the night.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “I remember this feeling”

  1. jbleakly March 9, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Oh…poor Henry…poor Becca…..wish I’d been there to help!

  2. Sue Leadem March 11, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    I agree with Grandma! 😦

Leave a Reply

