Introvert Pride!

24 Mar

I’m an introvert.

I’m not very chatty. Strangers intimidate me. I often prefer to be alone.

And I’ve always been embarrassed by this. And perplexed.

How do other people do it? How can they  strike up conversation so easily? How can they thrive in parties? How do they manage such a large social circle?

I’ve never been able to figure it out and just always assumed that there was something wrong with me. That I wasn’t doing something right.

But I’ve practiced. I’ve studied extroverts and I’ve learned how to manage in social situations. In fact, it’s now part of my job to be outgoing and people-focused. It’s a good challenge for me. But a tough one.

Susan Cain just wrote a book about introverts, which led to this TED talk:

Susan Cain: The power of introverts

Thank goodness for Susan Cain!

She defends the introverts. While our society places a premium on extroversion, Cain makes the point that there is nothing wrong with being introverted. Solitude and quiet are actually good things- leading to deep thoughts ad creativity. Some of the greatest figures in history have been introverts- Eleanor Roosevelt, Gandhi, Darwin, Abraham Lincoln.

It’s nice to hear someone sticking up for the quieter people.

After watching her talk, I don’t feel so embarrassed by my introversion. I still need to practice extroversion every once in a awhile but maybe it’s okay that I need my quiet time.

One Response to “Introvert Pride!”

  1. jbleakly March 24, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    When meeting new people, just ask them questions about themselves. People LOVE to talk about themselves more than anything and they will think YOU are just wonderful for asking. Grandpa B always used to say that you learn more by listening than you do by talking. I think he was right.

Leave a Reply

