Fauxjitos!

15 Apr

I learned another important lesson from my mom during our Florida visit- just because you’re pregnant doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy cocktail hour. To help me get around the “no alcohol” policy, she taught me a new drink recipe…fauxjitos! Okay, she called them “mojitos without the alcohol” but I call them fauxijtos! (Note: the exclamation point is required)

To make fauxjitos!, you need only a few ingredients:

Fresh mint, lime juice, sugar, sparkling water or club soda, and ice.

Combine about six mint leaves, a tablespoon(ish) of sugar, and 2-3 tablespoons of lime juice in a glass. Muddle everything together until you can’t muddle anymore. As an aside, I don’t have a classic cocktail muddler, so I use the flat end of a random utensil from my drawer. I’ve found the rolling pin works well 🙂 Once you can smell the mint, pour in about 12 ounces of sparkling water. Top with ice. Enjoy!

This just might be the go-to drink of the summer. Fauxjitos!

2 Responses to “Fauxjitos!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sansgrias! « Kissy Monster - May 6, 2012

    […] learning about fauxjitos!, I’ve become hooked on non-alcoholic cocktails. Friday night was mockaritas (which was […]

  2. Sansgrias! | KISSY MONSTER - May 29, 2012

    […] learning about fauxjitos!, I’ve become hooked on non-alcoholic cocktails. Friday night was mockaritas (which was […]

Leave a Reply

